About Us Chapter History

Chapter History

obile Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. was chartered as Beta Eta Sigma on January 31, 1942. The official chartering of the new chapter was performed by Minerva Hatcher Johnson, Southern Regional Director. There were ten (10) members and Evelyn Ware was elected President of this nucleus group.

Chapter officers and members at the time of establishment were:

Vice President
Financial Secretary


M. Evelyn Ware
Harveyette McAllister
Sara Branch Taylor
Dorothy Coleman Rushing
Carrie Little Wright
Thelma Austin Rice
Alberta Brazier
Frances Wilson Abrams
Dr. Georgia Oden Stevens
Ruth Smith Rhone

At the 23rd National Convention held in New York in 1954 under the administration of Dr. Dorothy Height, the delegates voted that hereafter a graduate chapter shall be designated as an Alumnae Chapter and identified according to the community in which it was located. Accordingly, Beta Eta Sigma Chapter became the Mobile Alumnae Chapter.


Please install and activate The Event Calendar" plugin to display Upcoming Events

Mobile Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.
Mobile Alumnae Chapter, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc.
Mobile Alumnae continues to make luminous achievements under the leadership of dynamic, dedicated sisters during its years of existence.