Chapter History

Charter Members

Mobile Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated was chartered as Beta Eta Sigma on January 31, 1942. On this day, seven Deltas and three initiates constituted the Chartered Body.

Thelma Austin Rice

Alberta Brazier

Harveyette McAllister Taylor, Vice President

Sarah Branch Taylor, Secretary

M. Evelyn Ware Matthews, President

Carrie Little Wright

Dorothy Coleman Rushing, Financial Secretary

(Initiates: Frances Wilson Abrams, Dr. Georgia Oden Stevens and Ruth Smith Rhone Williams)

During the 24th National Convention held in Detroit Michigan in December 1956, a revision in the nomenclature for graduate chapters was put into effect as delegates voted that hereafter a graduate chapter shall be designated as an Alumnae Chapter and identified according to the community in which it was located. Accordingly, Beta Eta Sigma Chapter became Mobile Alumnae Chapter.

Since its inception, Mobile Alumnae Chapter has provided the community with many civic and cultural services that include supplying books on Black History to the Prichard and Toulminville libraries, sponsoring competency skill and test-taking tutorial programs, spearheaded special education class at Dunbar School, this class was the first of its kind for the Mobile County Public school system. Purchased a Community Life Development Center to house community service projects, sponsor Delteen, Delta Academy, and Project DELTA activities, awards scholarships to high school seniors, contribute monetarily to special efforts some to include the Red Cross, Sickle Cell Foundation, United Negro College Fund, NAACP and YWCA.

Mobile Alumnae Chapter has hosted two Southern Regional Conferences, 1955 and 1976 and spearheaded the establishment of the Cluster Founders Day. Additionally, Mobile Alumnae Chapter purchased the first African American sorority house in Mobile County.

Mobile Alumnae Chapter established the Iota Nu City-Wide Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. The ten young ladies represented the University of South Alabama, Spring Hill College, and the University of Mobile. The chapter was chartered on April 23, 1972.

Prominent MAC Deltas; i.e.

Dr. Yvonne Kennedy

Dr. Kennedy served in many capacities across the state of Alabama. She was a local, state and national advocate for education. Dr. Kennedy was an educator, state legislator, civic and organizational leader and former college president. One of her many contributions to education was in her role as President of S.D. Bishop State Community College in Mobile, AL. for 26 years. Dr. Kennedy also served as a member of the Alabama House of Representatives serving 97th District, Mobile, AL. for 33 years.

Alexis M. Herman

Alexis M. Herman is an esteemed graduate of Xavier University of Louisiana. Ms. Herman is the first African American to serve as the 23rd U.S. Secretary of Labor under President Bill Clinton. As the chairman and CEO of New Ventures, LLC, Ms. Herman advises corporations on theory and tactics for bringing diversity to the workplace.